DIY: doggy doodle treat tin

” A house is not a home without a dog”...  True story.  We have three babies dogs that I honestly don’t know what I would do without.

PicMonkey Collage

Living on a small island in the middle of the pacific, away from all of your family and friends and having your husband deploy for eight months out of the year, is possibly one of the most isolating things I have experienced.  My dogs have helped me keep my sanity (what’s left of it anyway) during the ups and downs. Honestly, I’m not sure there is anything better than walking through the door after having a long or difficult day to a wagging tail, welcoming bark and kisses abound.

Needless to say we are crazy in love in with our boys and our house is filled to the brim with doggy toys, bones, beds, and treats. So much so, that I am running out of room to store it all ‘out of sight’. Thus spurring my need to come up with ways to camouflage all our dog clutter .

 The latest project in the endeavour was a tin to hold their treats (which I give them way too many of).  I started with this flour tin, chalkboard paint, craft glue (suitable for acrylic material),painters tape, and some loose glitter.  Start by making a square just large enough to cover the lettering on the tin with the painters tape, paint the square with the chalkboard paint, then allow to dry per paint instructions.  When the paint dried, I peeled off the tape, made a line around the edge of the paint with glue and added glitter, but ribbon, or roping would be amazing ! When we get back to the mainland I plan on adding a finial to the lid in the shape of a dog bone to really make it pop.

IMG_1373

So, what do you think doggy parents, a project for you or store-bought still the way to go ?

IMG_1374IMG_1378

Leave a Reply

