Foodie Friday: faux ham fried rice

Have you ever been craving some really good Chinese food takeout and look forward to ordering your dinner all day when you suddenly realize your WAY more broke than you thought?

If so, then your day was just like mine and we should probably be friends. Thanks to an enormous vet bill and the ridiculous amount of money we’ve been dumping into our house to get it sold my bank account is beyond pathetic right now and the idea of spending money on take out made me cringe. Suffice it to say the decision to cook at home was pretty much made for me.

Enter dilemma number dos. We have no food in our house and the grocery store was completely out of the question.  I was way beyond the point of no return. Sweatpants were  on, makeup off, hair in a messy bun and all the dogs finally fell asleep. Luckily, one of the few things  I have ever been good at, is making something out of nothing. I can’t even begin to tell you the amount of meals I made in college out of two to three ingredients due to lack of fundage.

The rifling through cabinets, pantry and fridge didn’t yield much, but enough to make a meal out of. I found some turkey ham, box of rice, egg beaters, peppers and celery. I remembered when I made some fried rice after Easter last year with leftover maple ham and knew there were enough of the basic ingredients to make it work. For those of you (like me) that are trying to drop some pounds or trying to eat healthy this recipe is actually packed full of lean protein, high fiber, low cholesterol, whole grains and vegetable servings.

SO what do you think? Is this something you would try on a weeknight for a quick dinner or when you’re too broke to shop?

recipecard-evermorepaperco-1

Side notes:

  • I used about 3 C. chopped turkey ham
    • any meat can really be used fro this recipe, chicken, canadian bacon, bacon, sausage, etc.
  • I didn’t have any peas or carrots so I substituted that with red and green peppers
    • any vegetables can be used for this – baby corn, water chestnuts & broccoli would have been my go-to
  • I also added 2T PB2 to my rice to give a protein boost and more of a Thai flavor – this works wonders with rice noodles too!
  • If you want to give it more of an authentic fried rice flavor you can add 1-2T butter to the mixture once youve added the rice into the veggie mixture

HAPPY COOKING BLOGGIES!

Leave a Reply

