Currently Wanderlusting…

… crisp white kitchens with marbled grey countertops, subway tile backsplash, bold statement mid-century lighting, copper hardware, a gorgeous range hood and TONS of natural light! Is that really too much to ask?!

Apparently it is if you’re moving to crap nowhere Virginia. We are currently in the process of house hunting (going on a mere 7 months now – yes 7 freaking months) and no matter how high we stretch our budget or extend the commute, I can’t find a single decent kitchen in ANY of the houses that have at least 3 bedrooms, aren’t in the middle of a RED area (with an average of 100 crime reports inside a month) and have any resemblance of a yard. I have heartburn even broaching the topic of moving again but the idea of not having a dream kitchen to look forward to just breaks my wee little heart.

But damnit, I refuse to give up my search until I find something cheap enough to redo myself or miraculously find that one house that has MY kitchen in it – I will give up sq footage any day of the week for natural light and open space!

How about you? Is a to die-for kitchen on your dream house must list?

2 comments

  1. Accidental Suburbanites · February 2

    I was looking for the EXACT same kitchen when we were house-hunting, and quickly realized it was a bit of a pipe dream haha! Don’t be daunted by bad kitchens though.. when we found our “dream house,” the kitchen was TERRIBLE. We knew we would have to replace EVERYTHING, but we went for it, and it was the best decision we made! I documented our kitchen remodel on my blog if you want to see how we did it :)

    • wanderlustaimless · February 3

      I am realizing it may not happen but I haven’t had much luck finding the great house even without the kitchen but I do have the feeling I may be in for a long process of remodeling 😬 I will for sure be checking your kitchen out and your blog for inspo!!

Leave a Reply

